The Fungus Among Us

11 Aug


the fungus among us, originally uploaded by Kristine Leuze.

I took Andrew and Chloe camping by myself this past 24 hours (with a little help from my dad in the evening). It was a great campground, just 10 miles or so outside of Hutchinson. It is a county park called Piepenburg. The folks that run the place were great and they had neat little hidden surprises like a big tire sandbox full of kids sandbox toys and a kiddie-only fishing pond. They even delivered our firewood.

We went on a nature walk last night and I found this crazy bright orange and green fungus growing on an old stump. I wish I could have gotten some better pictures of it but I was worried about the mosquitoes getting on the kids if we didn’t keep moving. I got bit twice, the kids none.

Check out my flickr page for the rest of the photos from our trip!

Leave a Reply

