Naan Recipe for the Bread Machine

9 May

I am loving the bread machine I scored last week garage salin’. It makes baking bread so much easier. Last night I made naan, an Indian flatbread and it turned out pretty amazing. The recipe (I tweaked it a bit) is adapted from Vegetarian Planet by Didi Emmons (on rental from the library but Mother’s Day is coming up . . . hint! hint!)

1 tsp dry yeast

1 1/4 cups warm water

3 cups unbleached white flour

1 1/2 tsp salt

1 TB olive oil

1 TB basil

(The original recipe calls for minced scallions, cumin and a beaten egg all of which I chose to omit- I like to experiment!)

I put all of the ingredients sans the basil into my bread machine and set it to manual. The machine worked it’s magic then I let it rise inside the machine (since it was warm already) for an hour. Then I took the dough out and divided it into three spheres. I placed the spheres in a bowl with a little olive oil, covered it and let it sit for a half an hour. Then I preheated the oven to 500 degrees and rolled out each sphere into the basil. I then flipped the dough rounds over and placed them on our pizza stone basil side up and baked them for 8 minutes each. I served with olive oil.

Yum!

Leave a Reply

