Gardening Late

29 Apr

I hope to use this blog to document the growth of the garden all through the growing season.  I feel like we are getting a late start.  The weather has been terrible and only the pansies and lettuce would be able to survive out there this week.  I can’t put the lettuce in until the new fence is up because the bunnies will eat it and it hasn’t been nice enough anyway to even go out and work on the fence.  One day last week we were able to get the raised beds going.

There are so many things I want to buy at Running’s!  It is nice working there (discount yay!) but it is the ultimate temptation every time I walk into the greenhouse.  Everything looks so amazingly lush right now I just want to say forget the paint job on the house and use the savings for some Azalias, Dogwood and about three flats of violas.  Lucky for me I started enough peppers, tomatoes and onions to resist buying any of those.

The Set-Up

It will be nice to get all this out and onto the patio at least if not into the ground.  Just when it was about to start looking like we would be getting a string of 70 degree days this happened:

2 Inches and almost the end of May

But the frost blanket I had over the lettuce actually did it’s job and then some because the lettuce was fine over night.  I brought it back in of course the following day and it sprung back resiliently.  Even though it was crappy outside, I was rewarded by my first bloom grown from seed, a Morning Glory.

Such a Nice Blue Color!

One Response to “Gardening Late”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Garden Itch! « Wallflower Wonderland - March 18, 2010

    […] not getting too excited though. There’s a picture on my old blog taken two years ago on April 29th (well over a month from now) with 2 inches of snow on the ground. […]

Leave a Reply

